Young CAADRIA Award

Young CAADRIA Awards are funded by CAADRIA and include sponsorship of conference registration fees and a certificate presented during the conference. Applications are open to full or part-time registered students (Ph.D., PG, or UG students), applications can be made after having received a notification of full paper acceptance. The awards allocation will be made by a committee jointly formed by CAADRIA, the Paper Selection Committee, and the Conference Host and will be based on the merit of the paper, contribution, and relevance to CAADRIA and demonstrated the depth of research interest. Awards will be applied to conference registration fees and are not transferable (e.g. awardees can not assign them to co-authors). If an awardee does not attend the conference no award will be given. The awards will be chosen before the conference. A student can apply for the award only if the full paper is selected for inclusion in the conference. An applicant can win the award more than once, chosen on the merit of work. There is no restriction if someone has won Young CAADRIA Award in the past 3 years.

Selection Criteria:

  • Clarity of concept
  • Understanding of context
  • Quality of writing
  • Strength of research in CV
  • Applicability to the wider architectural research
  • Typically only one student per university per year.

Application materials: your CV, list of publications, your accepted paper, and other supporting documents. These documents can include a maximum of 5 additional documents, for example, previous publications that demonstrate research excellence, awards, etc.

Application deadline: January 31, 2023

Send your applications to:

SASADA Prize, Best Paper Awards and Best Presentation Awards:

Young CAADRIA Award Winners:
Hao Wu, Tongji University, China 
Anthony Franze, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Shuyang Li, National University of Singapore, Singapore 
Sifan Cheng, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR 
Marc Gibson, RMIT University, Australia 
Ryo Onishi, Osaka University, Japan 
Rutvik Deshpande, National Institute of Technology Raipur, India

Awards Committee

Nic Bao
RMIT University,


Anastasia Globa
University of Sydney,


Urvi Sheth
CEPT University,

Christiane M

Christiane M Herr
Southern University of Science and Technology,

Sky Tiantian

Sky Tiantian Lo
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University,
Hong Kong China

Immanuel Koh

Immanuel Koh
Singapore University of Technology and Design,